Introducing the Bruinsrumors Hockey Shop

September 30, 2009

In effort to be able to purchase add ons for the site instead of free things, and purchase a domain, I am trying to find a way to gain revenue for the blog.  I will never put clutter ads, as I find them extremely annoying and take away from the site.  I have never asked for donations for the site.  I won’t ever charge anyone to read the site either.  So I found a site called spreadshirt, and basically it lets me create a T-shirt or other product and allow me to receive a commission per sale.  I tried to keep the prices reasonable, so everything is $25 dollars and under.  I have made only a few t-shirts, and I am looking to find a free site that allows me to make more graphics to put on them.  If you have any ideas for shirts, let me know.  So if you like the site, want to make a contribution to the site as well, buy a T-shirt!

Bruinsrumors Hockey Shop


The Season is Upon Us

September 30, 2009

The wait is over ladies and gentleman.  It has been a long hiatus from hockey, with the OT game 7 loss to Carolina still bitter in our mouths, but wait no longer, the season is upon us.  I cannot wait for tomorrow’s game, and I will be in attendance :)!

Sobotka assigned to Providence

September 30, 2009

In a bit of a surprising move, Vladimir Sobotka has been assigned to the Providence Bruins according to the Providence Journal. Sobotka was expected to be the 13th forward on the Bruins roster. With the demotion of Sobotka, it further implies that Krejci, Sturm, and Begin will be ready for the season opener tomorrow night. Sobotka had a great camp and stood out during the preseason but having a two way deal without having to clear waivers may be the reason he’s the odd man out.

Reviewing the Recchi deal

September 29, 2009

At the trade deadline last season the Bruins acquired Mark Recchi and a second round draft pick (in 2010) for Matt Lashoff and Martins Karsums. Lashoff was thought to be that puck moving defenseman that is coveted by most NHL teams. However, today Lashoff was waived by the Lightning.  Lashoff, the 22nd overall pick in 2005, will probably not make it through waivers, meaning the Lightning will lose his rights and be on the hook for half of his salary. Therefore, the deal ends up being Martins Karsums for Mark Recchi and a second round draft pick.  Late last week Karsums was placed on waivers and sent to their AHL affiliate. So to further analyze this deal the Lightning get two players who have disappointed their expectations (one in the AHL, the other which will probably be gone) and the Bruins got a veteran leader who will probably net 20 goals, and a second round pick that very well may be in the top 40. So, 6 months later, who wins this deal? The Bruins, hands down.Nice work, Chiarelli.

Fantasy Hockey Setup

September 28, 2009

I set up a fantasy hockey league for everyone who wanted to join. There will be 13 of us playing, I sent you the setup via email just now.  I gave the password as well.  The draft is scheduled for tomorrow night at 7:45 pm EST.  Sorry for such short notice.  If you have any issues shoot me an email.

Hamill, Marchand assigned to Providence

September 28, 2009

The Bruins have announced that Zach Hamill and Brad Marchand have been assigned to Providence, trimming the Bruins roster to 22 players.  Hamill and Marchand both impressed and show they have great potential in the NHL.  If an injury occurs, expect to see one of them getting the first call.

With the demotion of two players, that means the Bruins roster is ready for opening night.  It also indicates that one, or both, of Steve Begin and David Krejci are ready to return to action for the season opener.

Pre-Season Predictions

September 27, 2009

Eastern Conference Champion: Boston Bruins
Western Conference Champion: Chicago Blackhawks
Stanley Cup Champion: Boston Bruins

Hart Trophy: Evgeni Malkin
Art Ross Trophy: Evgeni Malkin
Vezina Trophy: Roberto Luongo
Norris Trophy: Zdeno Chara
Calder Trophy: John Tavares
Selke Trophy: Patrice Bergeron
Lady Byng Trophy: Pavel Datsyuk
Lester B. Pearson Trophy: Evgeni Malkin
Bill Masterton Trophy: Marco Sturm
Jack Adams: Ken Hitchcock
William M. Jennings Trophy: Tim Thomas and Tuukka Rask
Maurice Rocket Trophy: Ilya Kovalchuk
Conn Smythe Trophy: Zdeno Chara