Horton in, Lucic out

Nathan Horton is in the lineup tonight and skating on the top line with Marc Savard and Michael Ryder. Horton missed the previous two games due to an undisclosed injury. In other injury news, Milan Lucic is out of the lineup tonight because of an upper body injury. Lucic left the early from last night’s game against Pittsburgh. His status is reportedly day-to-day.

172 Responses to Horton in, Lucic out

  1. moast says:

    Bergeron is playing like a beast. Marchand is a huge surprise this season….loving it! I hope they dont seperate these two.

  2. Bruins says:

    This team suuuuuucks.

  3. Gcole says:

    Maybe this hat trick is for real? Lol

  4. mook says:

    soooooooo

    trade chara! fire julien! trade savard!

  5. ELWOPPO says:

    I loved everything 2nite except montreal winning and Nathon Horton! This guy sucks! Sorry guys!

    • lucic crew says:

      I agree elwoppo this guy is getting on my nerves. Hope he picks it up

    • pearson says:

      cmon guys. you gotta be joking about horton. he’s 3 points off of the team lead… if he doesnt score everynight is there going to be someone here saying he sucks?

      when are people going to realize that the irrational hating on players only lasts a week at most, and then you just look like a whiney asshat

      • lucic crew says:

        your telling me your happy with his game play. Hey if your happy with mediocre play god bless you, cause i know he could do a hell of lot better.

      • Haus says:

        As I said earlier, I wouldn’t be surprised if the ‘discomfort’ is an injury he’s been carrying for awhile.

      • pearson says:

        if im happy with his mediocore play? HAHA. yea im fine with it. seriously. this is a guy that can straight out score and he’ll be back.

        we just drop 6 goals and your pissed about one of our most prolific scorer not getting one. godamn it. i might just stop coming here, half of you guys are just flat out annoying to read.

      • ELWOPPO says:

        Pearson, ur a fag! Stop sticking up for Horton, if the guy is not producing than we have a right to complain! When he starts contributing than u’ll hear nothing but praises!

      • TheBellEnd says:

        Pearson….my sentiments exactly…people on here are fucking worse than leaf fans with their on the wagon off the wagon talk…unbelievable…

        and what do you get for your opinion…you get called a fag by elwoppo…stay classy, my friend…

      • willisss says:

        And sooooo it begins

  6. lucic crew says:

    Big win boys, ummmmm is that 6 shut outs. Atta boy thomas.

  7. moast says:

    I truly think that Horton is just a kid that needs to have his confidence boosted. I agree he looks fragile out there and is too slow to get his shot off. He had a prime opportunity tonight but took way too long to get it off.
    Just a hunch but can I think that once Lucic Savvy Horton gain there confidence and start playing like a true #1 line down the stretch, it will give the actuall scorers on this team some releif. Could be a thing of beauty, or they can continue to shit the bead, who knows.
    One thing that I do know is that Marchand can’t be taken away from Bergeron and Recchi….proving to be too potent….

  8. Haus says:

    Missed the 3rd period because I play on Tuesday nights (Ball Hockey). Bergy was outstanding, Marchand compliments him well with his speed, much like Sturm used to. Ottawa is a disheartened team, time for a rebuild up there. What in the hell happened for Paille to end up fighting Carkner?

  9. Haus says:

    Where are Bruins1 and Bill? They haven’t posted on a few days…oh yeah, they only come here to bitch after a loss.

    • #4 says:

      lol yeah I missed the game last (Fucking bomb dinner with the GF family last night Bacaro in Providence look it up amazing)…

      To the point I see the attitude with you fuckers has changed around here lol. Guess it just takes a 6-0 whooping to send all the trols/dumbasses to shove their foot in their mouth for a while.

      GOing to watch the DVR of the game at some point and then ill be back to take a big chug of kool aide and wave the pompoms with you guys.

      • Haus says:

        I’ve heard of Bacaro but I’m up in the Merrimack Valley, so its kind of a hike for me. As for the dumbasses, maybe they should heed the old hockey cliche, ‘don’t get too high or too low’ haha.

    • BosBrn77 says:

      I will always be a die hard Bruins nut… but on the same side as not panicking when they lose, I’m not about to jump for joy when they beat a team they should.

      I still do not like Julien’s style. I think if you open up the offense some, Horton, Lucic, Savard, Krejci, Seguin and so many others will flourish.

      At the same time, I’m not going to sit here and say trade everyone!! I’d like to see them make a trade, for another scorer. But the likes of Bergeron, Krejci, Thoma and Chara need to stay!

      And I still would rather see Bergeron as the captain.

    • Bruins1 says:

      Haus u serious?

      What you talking about? I posted earlier. Very nice win again, but as I stated in the past, Its not Savard who is doing anything, and rask is just as good as Thomas. So Ithink trading them to make use better makes sense. Whats wrong with that idea? Don’t get all crazy because we beat a last place team. Lets see what we do against Philly and pitt again. Then start Talking. But I never said trade bergeron. I think Bergie, Krecji, and Seguin shoudl be our 3 down the middle.

      • Haus says:

        Sooo…. If Savard isn’t doing anything (other than the Pitt game, I’ve been frustrated with him too; he’s trying to be too cute with the puck, has changed his game) who takes the risk on his looong contract when it is still uncertain he will be the player he was pre-injury? If I was an NHL GM, he would be like poison ivy to me. If he gets back to where he was pre-injury, his contract coild be a salary cap bargain. If not, well that’s the Bruins problem, not the team I was the GM for (hypothetical)

      • Haus says:

        And on a side note… I don’t see your earlier post that you mention.

  10. Birdman2403 says:

    I wasn’t a Marchand fan at all in the past. However, this guy has grown up and is a VERY valuable member of the team. His PK is great and now even strength is picking up !!
    As for Lucic, I hope he’s hurt. I don’t mean that exactly, but if he has been healthy and playing like he has been…..that’s bad. He seems to be invisable out there lately. Hopefully, just some little thing and he can get back to normal !
    As for Bergy…..this guy should have the C on his jersey ! Even as young as he is he has done it all….Junior gold, Olympic gold and shows up every night !!!

  11. ELWOPPO says:

    Marchand is my vote for the 7th player award! I absolutely love this guy! Thier is nothing he cant do! Give’s 110% every shift and has alot of heart! As for Horton, talented sniper but his play in the last 2 months is a joke!

  12. moast says:

    O.K. This is not my idea but I have heard it from a few people up in BC that the Bruins and Canucks are trying for a deal. I repeat this is not my thoughts, but rumours I keep hearing recently.
    This is another comment that I will share:

    “Rumor from CBC saying PC is working on a trade with Vancouver for Lucic. I think it includes Bieksa from Vancouver.”

    How does everyone feel about this?
    I would hate to lose Lucic as he is one of my favorite players and will be a force.
    Now that being said, who would have to come back in that trade?

    Bieksa & Schneider?
    Then in the off season they could move Timmy maybe for a Semin of Parise?
    Since this would be out of our control, not my idea and just speculation….try not to shit on me too hard!

    Next Year:
    Horton Savard *Semin/Parise
    Raymond Krejci Wheeler
    Caron Bergeron Marchand
    Thornton Campbell *Rookie

    Chara Bieksa
    Seidenberg Kampfer
    Boychuk Ference/McQuaid

    Rask Schneider

    Let me have it boys!!

  13. Birdman2403 says:

    This is a good question. I love Lucic too. However, he seems to go hot and cold…and cold for a long time. He is a force no question. BUT……

    Bieksa, Raymond and Schneider are all great pieces. I think we are fine with goalies. Thomas will be tough to move as he is older. And I’m fine with Thomas staying to work with Rask. So…..

    Kesler would be awesome if somehow this could work !

    • TheBellEnd says:

      kessler goes nowhere…you know that

      • TheBellEnd says:

        edit…kesler

      • lucic crew says:

        Wow who are you to talk. All you do is tell people off when they voice their opinion.

      • moast says:

        I agree BellEnd….Kesler is staying put
        I agree Lucic Crew….I am surprised I didn’t get told off for this thought.

        I’d concider Mason Raymond and Bieksa for Lucic as Bieksa is a beast this year and would solidify the D. Raymond would replace some if not all of lucics production. Bieksa would try and replace Lucics aggresion.
        Again, i don’t want Lucic to be traded.

      • TheBellEnd says:

        aw muffin…you gonna be ok, Lucic crew…want me to wipe those tears away for you??

  14. mook says:

    i have an idea about the allstar game…

    they should invite 8 goalies and 32 players (like they currently do) and make 8 teams with 4 players each.

    have them play 3-on-3 (with one sub) for 10 minutes (or 15mins, whatever) in a mini tournament. maybe use a smaller rink, or use half the rink with 2 games at once to save time.

    bam. allstar problem solved.

    personally i think that would be friggen awesome. how do i email this to bettman?

  15. bruins4eva says:

    is it me or does this team…seem to win games by a large margin…where there fights…so maybe thornton and quadier should fight everygame

    • moast says:

      When they play like the BigBadBruins, they end up scaring teams and are hard to play against.
      They play soft with no emotion and they end up being the scared ones.
      Hit, fight and aggitate!

  16. Jefe77 says:

    So, I’ve been one of many, for at least 4 seasons, who have put my stock in Patrice as the captain of the team.

    I think it’s time for a poll; and of course its a ‘fair’ time after his first trick to bring this to the helm.

    But I think last nights game is the culmination of not just a great season, an excellent career. I honestly haven’t a combo of skill, hockey sense, heart, and unquestionable work ethic since Ray.

    Poll it Pekese, or Matt! I am officially asking you to Poll who thinks Bergy should be captain of the Bruins.

    Thanks.

    • #4 says:

      I agree. About bergy for captain but ive heard (sounds dumb) that Chara has the C in his contract… I do think Bergy is the heart and the soul of the team but he doesnt seem very outspoken or anything.

      • Jefe77 says:

        I heard that as well, but this poll would simply be whether fans agree that Bergy brings it to every game more than anyone else.

        I love Savvy as well in many similar regards (Chara is probably 4th on my depth chart of game by game consistency), but to answer your second point; it needs to be noted that Ray never was very outspoken at all either. Its about showing the rest of the team that everyone should work as hard not just physically, but mentally.

      • Vince_M says:

        Chara wears the C but everyone knows the one who is the C, and that is Bergy!! It took him a season to get over that dumb hit and now we see what we missed for that year. We also now see what we are missing with Savvy. It will take him some time to get his head straight and when it does we will have some scary shit for a team!!!

      • Haus says:

        Bergy isn’t an outspoken guy either. I agree, however, that he is the heart and soul of this team, and my favorite Bruin.

    • Bruins says:

      I’ve supported it even since the year after Thornton was traded, but it doesn’t look like it’ll hapen any time soon.

  17. Haus says:

    Look it up on Spector’s hockey today. It says Vancouver will not move Bieksa this year. He’s essentially become their #1 D, and they are definite cup contenders. They need him, and with Salo coming back they would only have to move 1.5mil.

  18. mook says:

    wearing the C means nothing. it’s just fabric on the jersey. these guys are professionals…

    give the C to tuukka and see if it makes a difference.

  19. black n gold says:

    CMON guys so we beat 1 of the worse teams in the league !! Thats not going to win us a cup we need to beat the teams above 500 hockey. Those are the teams we choke against !! Simple question and be honest, are we better then last year ? maybe or is it just Thomas thats better 10 or so games at least have been won cause of him and that is a fact !! Now to all the fans that watch almost every game. How many games have we played hard for 60 minutes ? and if your being honest with yourselves there is no to many what 5 7 games if that !! a team that gets embarrassed that bad in the playoffs should not just show up in the thrid or the last 5 minutes ( ie pittsburgh game ) where is the jam or heart or pride on this team other then a select few ( ie bergeron thomas marchand and maybe a couple more ) and sure maybe Im wrong its just 1 guys opinion but Im turning 31 and I’ve watched these guys since I was young grasshopper and Im getting impatient I WANT A CUP 4 F SAKES !!! peace out too allBruin friends

    • #4 says:

      Respectable opinion I dont htink anyone can say that this team has been great this year. But look where they sit in the standings. The team has been good and IMO they havent even started playing yet. I think(hope) they are holding it back a bit for the playoffs and plan to go past the second round this year.

  20. ELWOPPO says:

    Hey BellEnd, if you new Lucic Crew u wouldnt be talking like that! I’ll be willing to bet anything that he could and would knock u out, One punch! Guaranteed! He just reacently got a huge bruin tattoo that covers half his chest! He’s a hardcore fan and takes this team very seriously! Just saying?

    • moast says:

      Not sure if he was directing that at both of us or just Lucic Crew…..regardless…..I’d knock him out too if i had the chance, Im sure most on here would!
      Hey Lucic Crew, what is your peice of?
      I just got one designed last week by a friend of mine that is of the dropkick murphy skeleton wearing a Bruins jersey, driving a zamboni (my dad was a ice tech) and I love Dropkick.

      • lucic crew says:

        Let him talk elwoppo all he does is tell people off the guy is a loser. Moast its a bear ripping out of my chest with a bruins puck in his mouth.

    • pearson says:

      internet tough guy

      • TheBellEnd says:

        i tell you off cuz you’re retatrded…jiust sayin…i dont tell everyone off…just the ones that deserve it…and trust me…i know i deserve it sometimes too…not perfect…almost, but….

    • TheBellEnd says:

      oh dear, Elwoppo…you certainly scared the shit out of me…that big old tattoed fuck might hurt me…one whole punch…he’s so tough gettin his ink done…you can both go fuck yourselves….

      as for you, Moast…was not directing comments towards you…just sayin…

  21. Bruins1 says:

    There is no way they trade Lucic. Its got to be Savard over Lucic. Ryder will go next season and leaves an opportunity to get someone.
    However I would love 2 see Thomas go to the Sharks for Pavelski.

    • Haus says:

      Now I’m a big fan of Pavelski, but under no circumstances do you trade Timmy with the way he’s playing this year, no fucking way. For instance, as they were saying on the telecast last night, Timmys GAA right now during his alleged ‘rough stretch’ is still better than what the rest of the league has done all year. He’s the shoo-in Vezina winner and serious Hart trophy candidate as well. Unless you want to be run out of town and be the laughingstock of league GM’s, you don’t make that deal. Anyhow, why would SJ go out and pay Niemi just run back out and get Thomas? That’s like $10million in goalies!

      • Haus says:

        Correction: Niemi and Nittymaki make a combined $4mil. SJ isn’t gonna chase a goalie. Based on what I stated earlier, I guarantee it.

  22. Manitoba Fan says:

    I have just read all the posts about lucic possibly getting traded to Vancouver(Rumor anyway). I mean if we honestly got Beiksa, Raymond nad Schnieder, fuck it would be hard to turn down, but in all honesty I hope Lucic stays a bruins for years to come. I to believe Lucic has not been playing up to his potential lately but I think it has to do with the role it seems he has been given.
    Milan is not a goal scorer, yes he can score but I don`t think he has ever had that pressure set against him. Lucic is a huge body, who will crush you, open up ice for guys like Savard, to dish the puck to a proven goal scorer. Lucic is a deadly fuckin hockey player but is not playing the his role, or the way which made him this great player.
    The Bruins should take cut the anchors hanging over that kids shoulders and let him fly. Let Milan do what Milan does. And if he scores a goal along the way, well fuck ya. I personally would like to see Lucic on a line with Bergeron. I think putting him on the third line would do wonders for him, and so would Bergy.
    I hope that PC can put a deal in place with Tor 1st, Ryder and maybe even Stuart for a younger talent with size and golden hands. Don`t know who to think but that should get us a pretty decent forward. The only reason I say Tor 1st is I believe it may not been even a top 5 pick or even a decent prospect. Get rid of Ryder, and whoever will get a solid D man. Tor 1st and Stuart I believe would be the more attractrive sides of the trade. Maybe its stupid, just my opinion. Anyway GO B`s

  23. Haus says:

    Couple of notes:

    Chara is 3rd in the NHL in average time on the ice per game. It would be great if he could sit out the All-Star game, but Bettman would never allow that.

    Even with the new All-Star format, is anybody really excited about this facade?

    Crosby could be out awhile with concussion symptoms. This could put Pitts and the league in a real pickle. What if his symptoms stretch out for a few months? When would it be time to make the difficult decision to shut the most marketable star down for the year? And if you don’t, and he’s a shell of himself, how do you compensate that with the greater concern for head injuries that’s going on in all sports today? I know its premature, but never too early to speculate.

    Over the next month and a half, you could see 2 or maybe 3 of the teams in the Bruins division go in the tank and start to sell. If that’s the case, the Bruins may see a inter-division points bonanza playing against teams with a lot of untested young players. The other side of the coin is they may deal their tested, veteran players to the likes of Philly, Pitts, NYR, Tampa, and Atlanta while spurning the Bruins and their need of a PMD and a gritty winger. Seeing how almost everybody in the West still seems to be in the playoff race its gonna be tough to get a deal done out there. I say the Bruins should hound New Jersey for Greene. They may have to go with the forwards they got.

    Not that it really matters, but the P-Bruins are in last place in their division.

  24. UEDkop says:

    In response to all the comments on Horton:

    I wouldn’t hold out hope for this guy. Yeah, ideally he would pick his game up and start scoring like we’ve seen he can. But hoping that he’s “just a kid who needs a confidence boost” is a waste of time. My cousin played with Horton on the Panthers and according to him, the guy thinks way too highly of himself and doesn’t work hard to prove he is good. I think we’d all be in denial if we said we aren’t seeing that right now.

    I like having him on the B’s as much as the next guy, but I also think it’s time we start holding him accountable for not showing up to play black+gold style more than others on this team.

    In no way am I someone who thinks this team needs to be changed at all. I like CJ on the bench and I mostly like our blue line and I like the lines we roll, but if we’re going to identify and blame someone who needs to play like they belong in Boston, it’s not Lucic or the D or PC/CJ, it’s gotta be the pretentious, uppity types like Horton.

    • lucic crew says:

      exactly

    • moast says:

      I wonder if his pretencious, uppity attitude is rubbing off on Lucic. I know he is injured and that may be the reason for his recent struggles but, all that i have heard, even from Shawn Thornton, that those two are joined at the hip on and off the ice. Kind of scary to see especially since Lucic has scored goals in bunches this year.
      Maybe Lucic is thinking he is Gretzky (like Horton does) but wont put the full effort in all the time. The main reason that I notice this is that since Lucic has started scoring and being BFF with Horton, his game doesn’t consist of hitting, fighting and creating space as it once has.

      • UEDkop says:

        Interesting theory. I also think that first-line status is getting to them. You put them up top with Savard in the center and I’m sure they think of themselves as the scoring line. That would be fine if they scored, but in the system we have now the people who are scoring are the ones who grind their shift out and win the puck behind the attacking goal line (see: Bergeron, Marchand, Recchi line). If Horton doesn’t pull his shit together, I wouldn’t be surprised to see a healthy scratch and some time on the third or fourth line for Lucic, a la his “revival” last season. Put him with the dudes who know how to fight for every goal they get and see who’s rubbing off on him then.

  25. moast says:

    “Being a Bruin should make you play with a chip on your shoulder. There should be that identity and attitude about putting that uniform on. You should be hard to play against every night.”

    Shawn Thornton

    LOVE IT and HIS PLAY

  26. ccm says:

    Again please don’t rip on me for this but I heard from a pretty credible source that the B’s were making a play for Iginla. They didn’t say who’d they give in return, just that they were in talks with Calgary.

  27. Haus says:

    What’s the source?

    • moast says:

      Gotta have a source!
      Iginla would look real nice on this team and would be done around the same time as Savard. Everyone wants a true scorer and even though he is getting older, he WILL score with Savard.

      TO’s 1st, BOS 2nd, Ryder, Ference, Colborne
      Iginla, Regehr

      Iginla Savard Horton
      Lucic Krejci Seguin
      Recchi Bergeron Marchand
      Wheeler Campbell Thornton

      Chara Regehr
      Seidenberg Kampfer
      Boychuk McQuaid/Stuart

      Love that line up….
      I know the numbers don’t work but are close.
      May be overpayment but would be nice to see as that Leafs pick may not end up being that great.
      I do have to say though, Calgary would be tempted but would want a centre and that would be Krejci, which Im not into, especially for an aging veteran.

      • Haus says:

        Yeah, agree they would want Krejci in return. If they move Iginla, that means rebuild time. You don’t rebuild with 2 guys in their 30’s (Ryder, Ference). If they move Iginla(does have a no movement clause)look for LA Kings to be involved, with possibly Anaheim and maybe Atlanta.

      • moast says:

        I do agree that if Feaster was to rebuild and fix Sutters mess, they would want some good players back. On that note, they may be looking more to rebuild in the off season. Ryder would come off the books, Ference is a home town boy and could be good for both sides, TO’s 1st would help with the rebuild as would the 2nd and Colbourne. I agree, it wouldn’t get done without a “Krejci” maybe wheeler? Other teams would be offering a tastier deal.
        LA: Shenn and Bernier

        I’m going to stop speculating on this until CCM provides an acurate source.

  28. mook says:

    ARE YOU GUYS CRAZY? IGINLA?!?!?

    no shot. PC is not that stupid.

    fuck sometimes i wonder if people who post actualy watch hockey.

    • moast says:

      It’s just speculation. You are also refering to Iginla as chopped liver:
      18G, 21A, 39 PTs
      this is all while playing with shit players, a brutal team and is uninspired.
      He would be stoked to play with Savard, he co-owns the Kamloops Blazers with Recchi and I feel it would be a good fit. He isn’t that old at 33 and is always in top shape. He has grit, competes and has loads of top experience (cup finals, Olympics).
      This team would benefit from a guy of his pedigre, especially all the younger players that are here and coming up. Him and Savvy would be deadly together and would be gone around the same time.

      I’m not saying move Krejci for him but TO’s pick and some other peices wouldn’t be stupid.

      All that being said, his cap hit is really high but to treat the thought of acquiring him as ludicrous is ludicrous.

    • Haus says:

      Refer to my post when I said ‘aint gonna happen’.

  29. cebbie says:

    Mook I have to agree with you – I have not posted in a while but I cant believe the crap some are posting – Does nobody watch any games they played this year before coming up with stupid ideas. The only players on this team which should be sent packing are Savard and Ryder – Granted Iginla was a great player but the bruins can play just as uninspired as Calgary – why would he do any better here than there – Horton is pretty much a clone of Iginla and much younger and he is doing shit so far. Bottom line this team has as much talent as any other team in the league, they just decide to play inspired a few minutes a game. If they all decide to get thier collective heads out of thier asses at the same time and play a full game they would have no problem beating any team anytime.

    • moast says:

      I agree that we dont need him or should sell the farm to get him…..if he was ever available. But to call the idea stupid and crap is funny to me. Then to go on and say he is an older Horton and “was” good. Horton hasn’t proved shit in his career and isn’t proving too much right now. I do like Horton and he will get his shit together but to compare him to Iginla is pretty far fetched in my opinion, and thats all that this is, an opinion, nothing to get bent out of shape over.

      Horton (average over last 5 years) 55 pts
      Iginla (average over last 5 years) 84 pts

      A change of scenery is all that he needs…..oh wait maybe a centre like Savard.

      I know that I wouldn’t want his 7mil cap hit without some key pieces going the other way. This was just an idea/speculation for shits and giggles as Iginla will die a flame. It’s amazing that people get so bent out of shape on here about ideas. It’s just something to do to kill the time in between games.

      Go Bruins! 5-2 over Philly!
      (3 goals from Recchi Bergeron Marchand)

    • Haus says:

      Ok, prefacing my comment ‘aint gonna happen’. Why would Iginla do better here? One answer: Centers. Who does he play with in Calgary? Burn-out Jokinen? And just where and how would they send Savard packing? He’s got a 7year deal and its unclear so far if he returns to being the player he once was. If you were a GM would you take on that gamble? Do you watch the games? Horton is shit so far? He’s slumping bad right now but if my eyes are right I saw him score about a dozen goals early on when the Bruins were picking up all those points in the standings in October and November.

      • cebbie says:

        All bruins fans must be bored –
        This team does not need any one – they have all the talent if they decide to play for 60 minutes – that includes savard and ryder – To trade for the future would get rid of those two guys first – Being I said that no doubt Savard will set up Ryder for the hat trick tonight. Which would make me happy if they win – I friggen hate Philly ( only slightly less than Mon. and Tor.

      • moast says:

        I didn’t say Horton is shit so far, I said that he hasn’t proved shit so far, which in hindsight was off kilter. He has scored a bunch of goals, he fights and he really hasn’t done anything really bad, minus falling down like Wheeler and taking an hour to get his shot off……I’m just not feeling him on the first line, my bad.

      • Haus says:

        I was referring to Cebbies’ comment, Moast. My bad, Cebbie, for jumping down your throat like that. Sometimes my ego gets out of control and it didn’t appreciate being told I didn’t know what I was talking about. I gotta agree this team doesn’t need much, my only true wish is to get a Dman for the PP so Bergy can move down along the boards. I think with the experience this team has and the injuries they picked up all during the regular season last year there is a good chance they are saving something for late March and beyond.

  30. Haus says:

    That being said, its probably an Eklund rumor. Please please don’t post Eklund rumors. Ever.

    • #4 says:

      Not even if its e5?

    • moast says:

      I think 98% of rumours are from that fool!
      I think the trade deadline will be pretty slow with not a lot of movement.
      Maybe a top 2/3 defenceman for the Bruins, at best.

      • #4 says:

        Yeah thats kind of what I am hoping for. Hate to say it but Stuart hasn’t been great this year.

        For a 1st rd draft pick its kind of dissapointing. I could see him + Paille + a pick or so going to bring in a superior 2way defenseman to play with Chara a Ward type or something.

        I think Kampfer has been great as a PMD and has chemistry w/ siedes.

      • moast says:

        That trade would be nice…..agree about Stuey…..he has been solid but once again he is redundant with McQuaid.

      • TheBellEnd says:

        It’s a hit based website…meaning the more we click the more he makes…I hate that fuck…makes shit up to get hits…but I enjoy Ty’s Bruins Blog there…thats why I still go there….

  31. #4 says:

    Im going to get back into the prediction game tonight.

    4-2 Boston. Krejci w/ 2 points and Richards w/ 2 points. 3 goals in the second (combined).

    The oracle has spoken.

  32. Bruins says:

    Horton’s fine. This guy has just been snakebitten for like a month now. Seriously, how many posts or near misses does he get?

    I do think he has to work on his release though. He could get so many more opportunities if he got his shot off quicker.

    • #4 says:

      Him and Ryder both.. They are similar players and the Key to thier games is to keep your feet moving and shoot shoot shoot. If the feet slow down (Horton has) then he doesnt find the space he needs to shoot. Hes big but not a dangler he takes space he doesnt invent it like crosby does.

      I suspect a nagging injury, maybe soreness from that old broken leg injury?

    • moast says:

      Im glas im not the olny one that can see him set up a shot, go take a piss, come back and see him get knocked over without shooting.
      He is a solid player and I think I almost popped wood when he was signed…..love the player and he will be deadly over the next few years.
      i can’t wait to see him in the playoffs….same with Marchand ,Campbell and Seguin!

    • lucic crew says:

      you got it right on the money

  33. mook says:

    Moast…don’t worry about stats…we all have TSN. Watch Iginla play and you’ll see what i’m talking about.

    Reading the columns and stat-checking is one thing, but so is watching the games.

    NHL Centre Ice rocks, BTW.

    • lucic crew says:

      true

      • moast says:

        I know…..I just hate when high calibre player hit there early to mid 30’s people call them washed up and “used” to be good.
        he’s not having a good season….agreed.
        He would look good with Savvy though….last ill say on the matter…too much $.
        I decided to be cheap this year and went with the NHL subscription and am getting fucked over.
        Any games that are on versus, tsn, cbc, espn or against a canadian team are blacked out. So many times i cant watch what i am paying for and have to resort to ADTHE or Myp2p to watch the game, even if it is 30 pixels of movement…..at least I can hear it right?

  34. Pearson says:

    Iginla isnt a absurd suggestion. What i worry about though i just getting guys that cant gel quickly. What im getting at is: are there guys that that could be available that have have played with some of our players in the past? Maybe someone from FLA to get horton hot? Savard from his time in Atl? Sometimes i think the lines are juggled too often and the players cant get used to each other. I still think horton-lucic gotta stay, cuz if they both get hot then look out; i just think savard aint the perfect compliment of a center for them.

    Heres possibly a really stupid idea going back to what someone said earlier about putting them with a line that HAS to work hard fpr their point… Lucic campbell horton running out of the 3rd line?

    It could leave ryder krecji thornton, marchand bergy rex, and wheeler savard seguin

    But again, thats sorta jumbled.

    • UEDkop says:

      I wouldn’t separate Campbell and Horton or Bergeron’s line, so yeah, what’s left is jumbled if you take Lucic and put him on the 4th. That’s the unfortunate situation we have right now (our left wing is relatively weak compared to the right). If there was a solution I’d take it – I wanna see Lucic grind a shift out again.

  35. moast says:

    According to Kevin Allen of USA Today, the Leafs have traded prospect Mikhail Stefanovich to the Dallas Stars for winger Fabian Brunnstrom

    Well there goes the TO 1st…….we’re fucked now!

    • Bruins says:

      Wtf? Brunnstrom is a bust. He had so much promise coming into the league but he turned out to suck. For you, try to look at it that he’s even worse than Chara.

  36. moast says:

    WTF kind of goal was that?
    Where is McGratton….Thornton shouldn’t have to do it all the time!

  37. lucic crew says:

    you guys are right get rid of savard hes shit

  38. ELWOPPO says:

    Stop playing with these idiots, put the fucken puck in the net!

  39. Manitoba Fan says:

    Fuck!

  40. G-Rant says:

    That 3rd goal before the intermission stings boys,but we can get it back! Let’s go Bruins!!

  41. Manitoba Fan says:

    Fuckin Zheredez was offside

  42. bill says:

    this is why julien humpty dumpty sucks. 3 two on ones each time we elect to pass even horton whos paid to shoot. julien job is to tell these fucks to shoot. oh wait he probably tells them keep tryin it will work i promise you as he sits there with his fuckin grin. FIRE THE FAT ASS

  43. UEDkop says:

    ’bout time Wheeler uses his size to respond. Let’s see a scrap, big guy!

  44. Bruins1 says:

    Savard is still too fancy and makes the bone head pass at times. However Bergeron, Marchand and Wheels had hell of a game tonight!!

    What about you Thomas supporters who say You cant trade him? Lets see…. 5 goals. Come on guys, Rask and do the job for us. Sell Thomas why he is right now at his highest value. We dont want 3 more years of 5 million.

    • UEDkop says:

      I want it. So he had one game where he gives up 5 goals. I remember Rask doing the same thing on the season opener. Numbers don’t lie, and I see a whole lot of Timmy on the “League Leaders” page at NHL.com

    • Haus says:

      His highest value will be in the offseason, when more teams will have cap space which will create more of a market.

    • Bruins says:

      Agreed, being .07 over the best single season save % of all-time just isn’t going to cut it.

    • #4 says:

      Must be a troll. All he ever wants to do is trade so and so and has no idea what he’s talking about or what a realistic trade is.

      Cant you be happy that the best American hockey player is on the B’s and is a shoe in for the vezina?

      Oh noes trade him because on the offseason I heard felger bitch.

  45. Haus says:

    Bill probably won’t be back for awhile, well, not until they lose or seem like they’re about to lose.

  46. Bruins1 says:

    I agree Thomas is good, but we have Rask and need to trade him before A.) he gets hurt or b.) starts 2 look bad

    • UEDkop says:

      When he gets hurt or starts to look bad we have Rask to cover. What happens if/when Rask gets hurt and we don’t have a decent backup? I say we stop worrying about getting the maximum value for the players who are bringing us wins and just enjoy the stacked, if cap-heavy, roster that we have.

    • CCMGoalie says:

      Bruins1: WHY ON EARTH WOULD WE TRADE OUR VEZINA CANDIDATE RIGHT NOW?! That makes NO SENSE what-so-ever. Yes let’s trade our league leading goalie for some young kid whose not putting anything up for numbers right now. (Not referring to Rask) If we bring Rask in as our starter too soon, we’re going to “Scarey Price” him. Look what last season did to his game this year. (Granted he hasn’t gotten a whole lot of help in his starts.) Timmy is our starting goalie for the time being. We don’t need to worry about him being a long Cap hit because he’s already stated that at the end of his contract he is going to retire. So in 3 years when his contract is up and he is around 40 years old he will hang up his skates. That gives PLENTY of time for Rask to mature and get himself ready to ease into the starting role by taking more and more games per year. If Thomas is putting up top 5 numbers like this for the next two years and slides a bit in the third year we are getting an ABSOLUTE steal with his $5 million per year cap hit. He will only make $3 million in his last year, which for a solid back-up goalie that is not a terrible deal. As proven right here: http://www.capgeek.com/players/display.php?id=236 (I urge you to check this site for any questons about players salaries. http://www.capgeek.com/) I hate how many people keep saying that Tim Thomas should be traded, ESPECIALLY when he’s put up the numbers he has since he came into the league. Last year was an injury year for him. Every player has a weak year due to some cause outside of them “losing their game.” Give Timmy some credit. The guy’s done nothing, but prove his critics wrong his whole career. I’m willing to bet he’d want some support from his major fan base.

      • CCMGoalie says:

        Also, as someone whose been trashing Wheeler all season so far, I have to admit that tonight I am pleased and impressed with his efforts. I hope he continues to make me eat my words and start putting the puck in the net on top of playing physically and solid up front. I’m hoping he isn’t a Kessel, who will score big for 3 games and then disappear for 10.

      • Haus says:

        Yeah its strange and I for one have been hesitant to criticize him because a lot of the nights the offence isn’t there for him he still is getting in on the backcheck and has been a major part of the PK’s success thus far.

      • #4 says:

        Big wheels is good for 2.2mil. 20goals, good defense, and PK ability is solid for that price tag. Not to mention size/speed.

        I would lock him up for a few years at that, but unless he breaks 25 this year I dont think he is in the bus to ask for much of a raise next year. But we all know it will probably go to Arbitration.

      • Haus says:

        Good points here, but one thing that needs to be said, if only for clarification: Timmy may only get $3mil in the final year of the deal but his cap hit will still be $5mil. Cap hits are determined by the formula Total $/#of years.

      • CCMGoalie says:

        Ah, I was not aware of that particular part of the CBA, thanks for clearing that up for me moast.

  47. ELWOPPO says:

    G-Rant i wish I was as positive as you! because i know i wasn’t saying lets get it back boys after carter scored that go ahead goal! We all can learn from ur positivity! Good for u bro! Anyhow go B’ssssssssssssssssssssssss and everyone have a great night!!!

  48. mook says:

    over the course of this game i have read that people want to:
    trade savard (um…)
    trade thomas (best goalie in the league)
    fire julien (who outcoached laviolette tonight)
    call-up mcgratton (and replace who…lemme guess…ryder)

    c’mon…

    • lucic crew says:

      nailed it

    • moast says:

      Ill take ownership of the “call up McGratton” just because I don’t think that Thornton should have to do all of the fighting…..especially in games agains Shelly or the Boogieman.
      I only saw the first half of the game and man some of these guys are really gelling. Defence wasn’t too shit hot but overall I will take it!
      Go B’s!!

      • TheBellEnd says:

        who would you bench for Mcgratton though….other that throwing a punch, he’s absolute garbage

    • CCMGoalie says:

      You sir seem to be no mook after-all

    • Haus says:

      Sometimes you just gotta roll your eyes….
      Maybe we can trade a couple of these nitwit posters to a Leaf board for a ‘bag of pucks’.

    • Vince Mendella says:

      I still say about Savard. Look how long it took Bergy to get back to normal! When Bergy got back from his head shot he was a shell of a player, until he had time. Look at Savard, before the hit he would get regularly 80-90 points a year. Give the guy a break, it will take time.

  49. bill says:

    haus suck my big bad bruin cock

    • Pearson says:

      Whata game. Philly brought their a-game and we skated with em. That one had a playoff type feel to it from start to finish. They scored goals that they normally dont: quick shots on transition. Normally the julien gameplan is dump and chase. I really think julien deserves a bunch of credit for this one. You cant tell me that they looked like the normal nuetral zone trap defense/ dump-grind-pass-deflection in team that we’ve seen. Phillys got great offense and we changef our game to match.

      Fuckinnn right team… Im so interested to see how we play against pitt now

  50. Haus says:

    I’m with you Pearson, great game, great atmosphere… Bruins fans should be thrilled with tonights game. Milbury post-game on Kampfer “somebody might be losing their job”. The kid takes chances and makes some D-zone errors but that’s fine by me. The kid is playing with shitloads of confidence and making big plays in the Offensive zone. Once he gets more experience and better learns the different neutral zone traps teams use, look out. I liked Hortons game alot tonight, Savard had a good one too. Many played well and those who had a more difficult night won’t be mentioned after a real nice win.

  51. ELWOPPO says:

    Ference hurt! Undisclosed injury! Stay tuned! Fyi he leads this team in –

    • Haus says:

      Well I hope its just a minor tweak and he’s back out there soon. For all the shit he took because of the contract he signed, the tree-hugger has been rock solid consistent and you can count on him to make a goal-saving play at least once a game.

  52. #4 says:

    What a freaking game, I hummed my remote, stormed outside in anger. Flipped out in celebration then creamed myself and at the end I was wayy to shitfaced to post here.

    Most exciting game of the year. Only downside was Thornton got completely worked. But Kampfer man he had one bad play where I tink Hartnel+Richards overpowered him right infront of Thomas who put on a circus act. But he is so good with the puck its awesome.

    Did some research he wasnt even a scorer in college he’s allready scored more goals in the NHL then he did his entire senior season. Im really liking the Wheeler-Krejci-Seguin line and Wheels getting a bit tougher hopefully that rubs off on Seguin(who is looking real good lately)..

    Good time to be a B’s fan.

    • pearson says:

      seguin has consistently been visible. his speed is unreal. im almost glad he isnt scoring a goal a game cuz you can tell hes progressing steadily, and that might be in his near future.

    • Bruins says:

      Despite the 0 points and -2 I thought that was one of Seguin’s better games of the season.

  53. mook says:

    i think julien sent a message when he benched savard. for all we know, lucic is benched too. horton was “benched”…etc etc.

    • #4 says:

      I think your right.. Calling it an undisclosed injury so its not like a huge public benching like Seguins was.

      Should be good for looch give him a few games in the presser to get back to his roots and fire him up.

    • Haus says:

      No way Lucic is being benched. What kind of message is sitting the kid for 3 straight as of tomorrow? Its an injury, no way Looch is a healthy scratch a whole week.

  54. Bruins says:

    I think Wheeler is finding his niche. The guy just won’t be a guy who produces that much offensively, but he has learned to use his size, speed, and reach for the defensive side of the game.

  55. Bruins says:

    This teams scores the second most goals in the league in the third (55, 1 behind Vancouver, 1 behind Vancouver’s 3rd/Philadelphia’s 2nd for any period), and gives up by far the least (24, 7 less than Washington). How can anyone question heart?

  56. #4 says:

    Heres a good question.

    What do you do with Marc Stuart?

    I think Kampfer has become untouchable. Chara and Siedes are as well. So then you have to chose between Ference(Just injured again) or Boychuck or McQuaid. That is assuming you bring Stuart Back…

    Do they have the cap space to carry 7d all year? Because we know Depth will behuge come end of the season/playoff time, but it might not be an option with pile eating 1mil of the cap.

    In my mind Boychuck has been getting roughed up a lot this year. I wouldnt mind him sitting a few and then potentially McQuaid returning to this press box(allthough I love his lonewolf toughness). Stuart is simply a better McQuaid with harder hits. So if I had to chose I guess it would be McQuaid to sit.

    • #4 says:

      This site is wierd I posted this way after CCM goalie did but it showed up this high wtf.

    • mook says:

      i like your idea of sitting boychuck. it’s true…every game i watch him getting manhandled. maybe he needs to bulk-up or something, but we won’t see that until the offseason.

      i’m not sold on mcquaid though.

      chara-ference
      kampfer-seidenberg
      stuart-me

      replace me with erik johnson. he hasn’t really lived-up to expectations, but i’d take a gamble on him. the blues are looking for trades too…maybe send them wheeler who we can eventually replace with caron.

  57. cebbie says:

    Ference – Looch – Stu –
    Wonder if a trade is in the works

    • mook says:

      no shot. ference is a good defenseman…and he’s played great for us this year. let’s move on…

      • cebbie says:

        Not so sure – If Eklund says it will happen it is as good as gold.
        Ference and a box of hammer handles for Semin and Ovi – E4

  58. black n gold says:

    Ference sucks man he deflects more into our net then any other bruin just ask thomas . His skating is getting slower every year he cant even hit the net so we pay him good money to mark up the end boards !! hes a 5th or 6th defencemen on our team thats getting way too much money. pathetic that we resign a guy that has been injured more then he has played for this team period ( WORSE THEN WIDEMEN ) less then 1 mill difference between their contracts ( yes i know widemen was bad last year but so was ryder so was thomas ect. players can bounce back right ) JUST SAY IN

Leave a Reply

