3 up 3 down

UP

1. Krejci/Lucic/Horton: The top line has been clicking and is red hot right now.  Krejci picks up two more assists tonight. Despite all the success from the top trio, the Bruins need more balance from the rest of the team.

2. Zdeno Chara: Chara finally breaks the powerplay slump with a 5 on 3 goal.  Chara logged a team high 27:31 and tied for the team lead with 3 shots on goal.

3. Tim Thomas: Questionable decision to start Thomas on back-to-back nights especially since they are trying to keep him fresh for the playoffs.  Despite that,  Thomas played great once again despite the rest of the team not showing up. Easily should have been able to pick up a victory.

DOWN

1. Claude Julien. Some very questionable decisions from Julien. Starting Thomas on back-to-back nights was one, especially since there was travel involved. Scratching Seguin again over Daniel Paille? Giving Chris Kelly powerplay time? Benching Brad Marchand for the third?

2. Chris Kelly: A second round draft pick for Chris Kelly at the deadline looked like a vast overpayment by Peter Chiarelli. Now it looks even worse.  The Bruins have Daniel Paille II, at double the cap hit.

3. The Powerplay: Despite finally breaking the horrible powerplay drought, all the combinations continue to look terrible. It lacks creativity and  is overly predictable.

28 Responses to 3 up 3 down

  1. zamer says:

    The trades we made and the players we got are not going to make us cup contenders,we get beat one on one all the time and our D is playing poorly giving up the puck god did we trade for kaberle to fix our powerplay well it stinks and he looks slow.Look when we had Savard the lines looked good and the team was different now we are out of sync and some lines are not as good we look average.

  2. backbruin says:

    Zamer, you hsce some valid points but you need to use punctuation when typing…..please punctuate your thoughts in the best way you can!!!

  3. willisss says:

    I was telling me mate last night how I don’t even notice kelly…oh well, slumps are part of any team…just ride it out

  4. Caperfan says:

    I hate to bring this up again but I still think another coaching style with these players would make the bruins a better team. I like Claude Julien and his defensive style as I think it does bring some degree of success as we have seen. However, in my view his system only takes a team so far and this is what got him fired in Jersey and Montreal. I think the bruins lack of creativity on the power play etc all revert back to Claudes coaching phylosopy and I think players become disillusioned with his style and thats what were seeing.

  5. Bruins says:

    I’d like to see a MTL newspaper. I bet the Japanese earthquake/tsunami is on the 10th page, with the first 9 being about the Chara hit.

    • #4 says:

      Yeah thats probably true.

      I saw one of those videos it looked like the time I dumped all my legos into the shallow end of my parents pool when I was a little kid.

  6. Bruins says:

    Martin Brodeur:
    “I’ve watched it and I think it was a penalty. It’s just an interference penalty. If that happens on the other side of the ice, we wouldn’t be talking about this. It would be maybe two minutes for interference and that’s it. But he got hit and unfortunately (Chara) did push him, but you’re talking about a guy who’s (6-9), 260 and a guy that almost jumped and he’s up in the air. It’s just an unfortunate situation for both because I don’t think Chara deserves to be targeted this way. But I can’t blame people for feeling that way. It’s just an unfortunate situation and the passion of the game that brings people to see it a certain way.”

    Respect. From one of the games most respected figures, with no other motives behind his words (*cough*Thornton*cough*). In fact he’s from Montreal and grew up as a Habs fan.

    • pearson says:

      wow. talk about someone that KNOWS the game. he trumps anyone that wants to go against chara on that.

      and as a hockey fan you have to be rooting for him right now. the devils are playing ridiculous hockey right now. with this likely being his last season id love to see marty get into the playoffs one last time.

  7. Manitoba Fan says:

    I am not gonna sit here and act like I am not frustrated by the inconsistency lately cause I am. But holy fuck. I got an idea come the offseason PC should just blow the whole thing up, our team sucks. No one can score, our d-fense sucks, and Kaberle, Kelly and Peverly blow, worst pick ups ever. I am mean look at Kelly out there, guy never has the puck. I mean especially when Ryder apparently thinks he’s bobby orr going cost to coast. And I mean Bergeron, Peverly, Marchand are sooo brutal. They don’t do anything, that line would be soo much better with Wheeler. And Kaberle sucks to, fuckin brutal…….. Fuck OFF. Its like lots of people on here have never seen the Bruins go on losing streaks or any other good hockey club in the league for that matter. Mark my words all these aquisitions will shut all you critics up just by playing good hockey. I like all the aquisitions. Kelly is awesome on the pk and needs better linemates. Ryder doesn’t pass and Reechi is too slow. PC will make the minor modifications needed in the offseason if he sees it necessary. Guys will not be resigned and others will be picked up. I hope come playoffs we face difficult teams the whole way through so people will shut the fuck up!!!! Die hard Bruins fan for life!!!!! And Fuck Air Canada, Via Rail, the city of Montreal and Joe Thorton for that matter. What a hippicrite. I remeber his first game back after being traded to San Jose he hammered Hal Gill from behind. GFY Big Joe!!!

    • Bruins says:

      Haha that was a clusterfuck of a post. I think you’re saying that Boston is… good?

      • Manitoba Fan says:

        I was being sarcastic. I think we have a goodteam. was just trying to respond to how it seemed everyone else was questioning the teams abilities and our deadline aquisitions. Obviously it came across wrong.

      • Manitoba Fan says:

        I guess i should have started a new paragraph when my sarcasm ended. When I said ” Kaberle sucks, fuckin brutal….fuck off”. That was the end of the sarcastic talk and when my true feelings start. Sorry boys. Iam just a welder not much of a scholastic hero.

  8. Studlycodfish says:

    Wow boy way to jump off the wagon, when the boys pick it up again I’ll slow the wagon down so you all can jump back on, pathetic. Through thick and thin boys, PC has done his job, CJ is doing his job, the team has to pull their heads out their ass and I have faith that they will, but even if they don’t the Bruins are the team I want to be cheering for, black and gold runs through my veins!! Go Bruins Go!!!

    • Manitoba Fan says:

      Not pathetic my friend, you just read it wrong because I can’t write. I was being completely sarcastic. Just responding to how I felt people were hating on the boys and our aquisitions. I love our team, obviously dissapointed but i will be bleeding black and gold my whole life. So don’t pick me up pal cause i am still on the wagon and will never fall off.

  9. ELWOPPO says:

    Leave him alone guys, he’s fed up and pissed off! Dont worry Manitoba, This team is starting to make me sick to my stomach aswell!

  10. Caperfan says:

    If this team doesnt do well in the playoffs the first person out the door is Claude Julien, guaranteed!!!!The wat they are playing lately its going to be quick. We all expect so much from this team and rightfully so. As studlycodfish said we have black and gold running through our veins but holy fuck boys its been almost forty years since we won a cup!!!!! I remember the last time we won I was a kid. If I am getting a bit frustrated I am sorry but its my perogotive. I have been a loyal fan for a long time and I and every other bruins fan deserves a winner and I am sick of waiting fro next year

    • Jefe77 says:

      Can’t help but agree Caper. Julien has done a lot for this team to bring them to this point, and he deserves to take his work to the next level. That being said, a team that has all the right parts for the playoffs carries a different pressure for the coach to bring it all together. I suspect the Bruins will make a good run, and his job will be safe. If he wins the Cup, he’ll be here for a while.

      Go Bruins!

  11. Caperfan says:

    Jefe77, I hiope your right that would make me a very happy Caper

  12. ward says:

    hey just to let everyone know wheeler has 7 points kab/pev/and kelly have 6 total. kelly for a second rounder yikes.

  13. ELWOPPO says:

    Carey Price is 1st in wins, 2nd in SO and 4th in Save%. Could this homo get the Vezna this year?

  14. zamer says:

    THE TRADES 1st stusrt,wheeler,colbourne,our 1st then second all gone.2nd we get kelly,peverly,kaberle our way.3rd we still have paille,rechi,seguin,ryder.Now where in the fuck are we any better or cup contender,four first rounders gone so wheres the future fuck theres something wrong here.

    • Manitoba Fan says:

      Not trying to argue but we still have Tor 1st and Minn 2nd and Tyler Seguin. We got rid of Colbourne because we have a kid named Ryan Spooner who I have heard is a gem. I heard somewhere that Doug Gilmour said that the Bruins have one hell of a player in Spooner. In all honesty how many centermen do we need. We have Bergeron and Krejci who are only 25 and I would say have alot of good hockey left in them. I guarantee you any other team in the league would die to have either of those guys. A promising prospect in Caron. And this goalie that PC picked up from Minny seems to be doing pretty good down in Providence. I beleive Peverly is better than Wheeler, but I did like stuart. Mcquaid has taken Stuart spot, is playing just as well and alot cheaper cap hit. Obviously nobody likes the way the bruins are playing right now but no team ever looks good when they are on a losing streak. I mean should Philly start panicing or wishing they traded players because they gave up four goals in the third yesterday and ended up losing to Atlanta when they were up 3 – 0. Come on boys well get through this!!

    • Manitoba Fan says:

      Zamer just out of curiosity when you say we still have paille,recchi, seguin and ryder after those trades are you trying to say that the Bruins should give up on Seguin alredy and trade him? There is no way any team would take Ryder for 4 million a year. Depending on the Savard situation, PC will have some money available to get a pretty decent gritty winger to skate along side kelly on the third line next season. Only time will tell whats gonna happen.

    • pearson says:

      we traded pieces that were not going to help us win NOW. when running a franchise, at some point you have to gamble for the cup. we all we’re praising PC a couple weeks ago when he landed these players and we (for the most part) saying we got fair value.

      now a stretch of games in march isnt the tell tale sign that they aint winning… stick with it. stop second guessing so soon.

Leave a Reply

